This was the case when we visited Bourscheid Castle, which sits perched far above the town of Bourscheid and the river Sure, on an isolated rocky promontory accessible only from a narrow road on the northwest side of the ancient stone fortress-home.
Building continued to expand outward from its center over the centuries as a Keep was built and later a palace and buildings to serve the castle such as the, chapel, dungeons and a warden’s house were also constructed. The some service rooms such as the bake-house were actually hewn from solid rock.
This small castle community was protected by a circular wall with at least four towers. Only one of those towers remains today.
These fortifications protected the Bourscheid family until 1512, when the last member of the family died and the castle began to deteriorate.
The chapel was enlarged around 1650 so that it could boast two altars and the Stozemburger House was occupied as a residence by bailiffs. The invasion of Luxembourg by French revolutionary troops in 1704-1705 put an end to feudalism, but the structures continued to be used by the community until 1812.